Web links: Surgeon General resources

September 1, 2008

Links to useful websites about the Surgeon General's office.

The power of the Surgeon General extends far beyond the thousands of health care workers who constitute the US Public Health Service Commissioned Corps. Each Surgeon General can commission reports on health care matters, drawing a wide swath of public attention on issues that need an immediate response. Presently, acting Surgeon General Steven Galson has focused on preventing underage drinking and childhood overweight and obesity, certainly both worthy goals. Visit the links below to read about other initiatives of the Surgeons General, and the resources offered to patients, parents, and practitioners who want to make the world a healthier place.

Office of the Surgeon General: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/ The home page of the rear admiral in charge of the PHSCC, otherwise known as the Surgeon General.

Stars and Bars:About the Uniforms: http://www.usphs.gov/aboutus/uniforms.aspx/ An explanation of PHSCC equivalent ranks in the Army.

Underage drinking

Prevent and Reduce Underage Drinking: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/topics/underagedrinking/ Includes the full PDF of the Call to Action.

Child abuse prevention

Making Prevention of Child Maltreatment a National Priority: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/topics/childmaltreatment/index.html An attempt to integrate the various prevention and promotion strategies, and draw more attention to child maltreatment as a public health crisis.

Smoking

Tobacco Cessation: You Can Quit Smoking Now! http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/tobacco/

Health literacy

Improving Health Literacy: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/topics/healthliteracy/toc.htm Printable information in PDF format.

Family medical history

Family History Initiative: http://www.hhs.gov/familyhistory/ Before it's too late, every family should know the health history of their relatives. This "family health portrait" can let patients and physicians know if their family
has a predisposition to disease such as high blood pressure, diabetes, and sickle cell disorder.

Preemies

Prevention of Preterm Birth: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/pressreleases/sg06192008.html The newest of the Surgeon General's initiatives.

Obesity

Childhood Overweight and Obesity Prevention Initiative: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/obesityprevention/ The Healthy Youth for a Healthy Future project has three goals: -Help kids stay active -Encourage healthy eating choices -Promote healthy choices